copying a set of directories

Post any question you may have in regards to GoAnywhere Director and let our talented support staff and other users assist you.

copying a set of directories

Postby DellDTR » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:54 pm

I have a current project that needs to copy a set of directories to another directory. The directories needing to be copied are all empty. I have tried to use a file listing and setting the recursive flag to true, but since the directories are all empty, nothing is copied. Can you point me in the right direction as to what I should be doing in order to copy these directories?

Our version of Go Anywhere is 4.0.0

Thanks
DellDTR
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:26 pm

Re: copying a set of directories

Postby Support_Julie » Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:58 pm

FileSets do not include directory listings. They only include files. So when a directory is empty, nothing is in the FileSet. The copy task is currently directed towards copying files and only creates folders when a file needs to be copied.

We are considering this for a future release. However there I am not sure of when. If this is critical, there may an alternative. Please call in to discuss.
Julie
Software Support
Linoma Software
Support_Julie
Support Specialist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: Ashland, NE USA

Re: copying a set of directories

Postby DellDTR » Tue May 15, 2012 10:14 am

We were able to do a work around in Go Anywhere. We ended up writing an external batch file that copied the names of the folders we were looking to create to an external file. We read this file and used the last instance of method to find the last slash in each of those folder paths. The substring method was then used to pull the last node of the path. Using this method we were able to create the set of folders we needed
DellDTR
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:26 pm


Return to Community Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron