Is there any way to speed up GoAnywhere?

View some of the Frequently Asked Questions to our support staff. Included are some tips and tricks making this forum ideal for users getting started with GoAnywhere Director. Note: Users can reply to existing topics but only our support staff can add new topics to this forum.

Is there any way to speed up GoAnywhere?

Postby Support_Julie » Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:25 pm

GoAnywhere's performance is closely related to the performance of the JRE (Java Runtime Environment) it uses and the system it is installed on. For Windows and Linux installations the recommended JRE is shipped with the GoAnywhere installation. On all other systems a JRE will need to be installed.

Note: Although GoAnywhere only needs the JRE to run you can specify a JDK (Java Development Kit) because it includes a JRE. On the iSeries platform there is only one version of Java which is the JDK.

GoAnywhere runs much faster on the iSeries when it uses the 32-bit JDK that is only available on V5R4 and beyond. To change the version of JDK on the iSeries use the GOANYWHERE/CFGGA command and change the "Java Home" parameter to read: /QOpenSys/QIBM/ProdData/JavaVM/jdk50/32bit

If you are on V5R3 then it may help to optimize the GoAnywhere files. If GoAnywhere is installed to the default directory, this is how these commands would look. If you did not install to the default directory, then change each reference to /linoma/goanywhere to match your installation.

CRTJVAPGM CLSF(/linoma/goanywhere/tomcat/server/lib/*.jar') +
OPTIMIZE(40)
CRTJVAPGM CLSF(/linoma/goanywhere/tomcat/common/lib/*.jar') +
OPTIMIZE(40)
CRTJVAPGM CLSF(/linoma/goanywhere/WebRoot/WEB-INF/lib/*.jar') +
OPTIMIZE(40)
Julie
Software Support
Linoma Software
Support_Julie
Support Specialist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: Ashland, NE USA

Re: Is there any way to speed up GoAnywhere?

Postby RobertClay » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:15 am

How long does it take to optimize these files? Does the GoAnywhere server need to be down when running the commands?
RobertClay
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:12 am

Re: Is there any way to speed up GoAnywhere?

Postby Support_Julie » Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:13 pm

The optimization commands can be done while the subsystem is running.

However, if the subsystem is running and one of the objects that you are optimizing is in use, it may skip that object. To optimize all of the objects, you may want to run the commands while the subsystem is down.

After doing the optimize commands, you will need to restart the subsystem in order for the change to take effect.
Julie
Software Support
Linoma Software
Support_Julie
Support Specialist
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:49 pm
Location: Ashland, NE USA


Return to Knowledge Center

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest